hamburger

Robocash Review

Earn on average 12% interest per year
Your investment is secured by a buyback guarantee.

Highlights
  • Invest in short-term loans
  • Intuitive platform
  • Automated investments
  • 30 day buyback guarantee
Rating
Risk & Return
Usability
Liquidity
Support
FEATURES
Buyback GuaranteeYes
Auto InvestYes
Secondary MarketNo
CashbackNo
PromotionsNo
DIVERSIFICATION
Min. Investment€10
Countries3
Loan Originators3
Loan TypeShort-Term
Loan Period1 - 6 months
Interest11% - 13%
PROS & CONS
  • 30-day buyback guarantee
  • Average loan term 22 days
  • Stable returns of 12%
  • No financial reports
  • Limited diversification
  • No sign-up bonus
_News
_Statistics
_Promo
_Risk & Return
_Due Diligence
_Usability
_Liquidity
_Support
_Summary

Robocash Review

Robocash is a (peer-to-peer) P2P lending platform based in Croatia. The platform’s primary focus is to fund short-term loans secured by their 30-day buyback guarantee. Robocash was founded in 2017 and since then it paid out more than €1.9 M to more than 11,000 investors. Find out more about this platform in this complete review about Robocash.

robocash review

⭐ Learn more about our rating criteria

Robocash News

Last update: 18/01/2021
  • 15/01/2020 - Robocash has funded €9.9 M worth of loans in December 2020 (record)
  • 29/09/2020 - Robocash introduces a loyalty bonus scheme
  • 26/08/2020 - Robocash Group published its audited annual report with a profit of $16 M for 2019

📧 Stay up to date with our newsletter

Robocash in Numbers

Before we talk about the individual categories, let’s have a look at Robocash’s statistics.

Robocash Statistics
Year founded:2017
Investor's earnings:+ €1.9 M
Total loan value:+ €153 M
Number of investors:+ 11,000
Loss of investors' money:0%
Average portfolio size:€1,262
Latest financial report:Report for 2019

So, how does Robocash compare to other P2P lending platforms?

The difference between Robocash and other P2P platforms is that you can invest in loans from other markets. Currently you can invest in loans from Kazakhstan, Spain and Singapore. Additionally, Robocash funds loans only from the Robocash Group. The group has reached profits of $16 M in 2019.

The Robo.cash platform, has recently shared the consolidated report for the Q1-Q2 2020. The Robocash Group has made a profit of $10.6M so between January and June 2020.

The second most notable difference is the size. Robocash as a platform isn’t as big as P2P marketplaces such as Mintos or PeerBerry, which also list short-term personal loans.

While you won't find much statistical data on Robocash's website, the platform was keen to provide some additional data which you can find in the table above.

Robocash Promo Code

Many P2P lending platforms offer a sign-up bonus, special promos or cashback for new investors.

All new investors that register with our partner link will receive an exclusive 1% cashback bonus on their deposits within the first 30 days.

This special promotion last only until the 31. January 2021.

robocash bonus

Robocash's Loyalty Bonus

All investors of Robo.cash have an opportunity to earn up to 1% in addition to the existing rate of 12%. You will receive 0.3%, 0.5%, 0.7% and 1% to the basic interest rate when your total portfolio balance reaches €5,000, €10,000, €15,000 or €25,000 accordingly.

Get 12% returns on Robocash

New User Requirements

To be able to invest on Robocash you'll need to meet the following requirements:

  1. Be over 18 years old
  2. Have a European bank account in your name
  3. Reside within Europe

No EUR bank account? No problem

  • Open a free N26 bank account
  • Open a free TransferWise bank account

If you don’t have a bank account in euros, your deposit will be exchanged to euros for the current exchange rate.

Risk and Returns

When investing in P2P lending, you want to make sure your investment is protected. In order to do this, you need to evaluate the ratio between the risks and the returns.

So, let’s have a look at the risks and returns in order to see if Robocash is the platform for you.

As with most P2P lending platforms that list micro loans, Robocash also offers a buyback guarantee.

Robocash’s Buyback Guarantee

The buyback guarantee on Robocash is different to many other P2P lending platforms. While platforms like Mintos and PeerBerry offer a 60-day buyback guarantee, Robocash’s period is only 30 days.

This means that you don’t have to wait two months until the buyback guarantee gets activated to receive your money back.

This is also valid for investors on VIAINVEST. Read our VIAINVEST review to learn more about the P2P marketplace.

Another benefit of this feature is that the loan originator pays back the outstanding amount and the interest for the delayed period.

This is pretty exceptional - most loan originators on Mintos don’t fork out for both.

This means that your money on Robocash is continuously earning interest, even though the borrower is late with its payments.

Is Robocash Safe?

Many P2P investors often ask whether their investment on a specific platform is safe.

In the past few months, several seemingly legitimate platforms ceased their operations. Investors lost millions of euros.

There is no guarantee that this cannot happen with any platform.

However, you can increase the chances of making the right investment decision by conducting due diligence about the platform you plan to invest on.

Let’s have a look at our background check of Robocash.

Who Runs the Company?

Sergey Sedov runs the Robocash investment platform. He is also the founder and CEO of the parent company, Robocash Group.

Sergey founded the Robocash Group in Russia back in 2013. The Robocash Group provides alternative consumer lending in Europe and Asia. Currently, there are 11 companies operated by the Robocash Group.

Sergey has over 16 years of experience in business management, marketplace lending, and real estate. According to his LinkedIn profile, Sergey co-founded his first lending company FinTerra back in 2010. Since then, the revenue of his businesses grew exponentially. Sergey also holds a PH.D. in Economics from the Institute of Economics of the Russian Academy of Science.

Who is the Company’s Legal Owner?

Sergey is the legal owner of seven companies within the Robocash Group, including the Robocash Investment Robot, where you can invest in consumer loans, originated by Robocash’s loan originators.

Are There Any Suspicious Terms and Conditions?

To decrease the chance of fraudulent behaviors, we always read through the terms and conditions. We look mainly at the following clauses:

  1. Are the user’s funds segregated from the company’s funds?
  2. Does the platform inform the users about changes in T&C in advance?
  3. Are there any other T&C worth mentioning

Let’s have a look at what we have found in Robocash’s T&C.

Clause 4.9 - Storage of Your Funds

In section 4.9, Robocash informs you that all your funds are held in a bank account separated from Robocash’s property. It’s also worth noting that you won’t earn any interest if you do not invest your funds.

robocash terms

This clause gives you a good legal ground in case the platform decides to disable withdrawals or introduce limits to withdrawing and depositing funds. However, a dedicated IBAN account like you get on NEO Finance would increase the safety of your funds even more.

Clause 5.2 - Manual Investments

It is a bit bizarre to read about the terms and conditions for features that aren’t even available on the platform yet. In section 5.1.1, you will find terms for manual investments. In section 5.2.10 and 5.2.11, you can read about the terms for a non-existent secondary market.

robocash terms

This is not a red flag, however, it would make sense to only list terms for features that are actually relevant to the platform, as that would make the T&C more user-friendly.

Clause 14.5 - Amendments

In section 14.5, you learn that Robocash reserves the right to change T&C with prior notice of 60 days.

robocash terms

This is great news as many P2P platforms don't notify the user before they change the terms and conditions.

Do Investors Have Access to Individual Loan Agreements?

While most investors don’t pay attention to the assignment agreements, it gives you a good legal ground in the worst-case scenario, where the platform goes out of business.

robocash agreement

You can download all of the assignment agreements under My investments → Investment number. All agreements are available as Microsoft Word Documents rather than PDF files.

👉 Is Peer-to-Peer Lending Safe?

Potential Red Flags

Learn more about possible red flags here.

What's our opinion of Robocash?

Our simple background check of Robocash’s management and their terms and conditions did not yield many suspicions, which increased our trust in Robocash’s investment platform.

We have joined Robocash in 2018 and invested €500 to test the platform. We were quite happy with the performance. The P2P lending site worked well.

The only issue we have encountered was occasional cash drag, meaning the P2P platform didn't list enough loans in which we could invest.

That was the primary reason why we have exited our investments.

Robocash's partner bank has been also previously fined over anti-money laundering violations. Which is the case with many banks in Europe.

We have reached out to Robocash and the support ensured us that the bank follows all necessary guidelines regarding anti-money laundering and personal data safety.

At times like these, where a many investors lost trust in P2P lending platforms, we find the collaboration with a bank with such a history rather disturbing which is why we have downgraded our Robocash rating.

As of September 2020, there's no cash drag and you can invest in loans from Kazakhstan, Spain and Singapore.

We have been monitoring Robocash for the last two years and many "planned" improvements to the user interface have not been applied. While other platforms invest in its development, Robocash seems to prioritize other domains.

As of right now, we don't have an active portfolio on Robocash.

The Platform’s Usability

The safety of your investment does not mean anything if you can’t use the platform correctly.

Robocash is very easy to navigate, and even if you are just starting out with P2P lending, you won’t have a problem getting around.

Auto Invest

Robocash doesn’t allow you to invest manually.

You need to deposit your money and set up your Auto Invest before investing in loans.

The minimum investment amount per loan is only €10 which makes it much easier to diversify your portfolio than is the case on platforms like EstateGuru or Crowdestor, where the minimum investment is €50 per project.

What you should keep in mind, however, is the availability of loans from individual lenders.

Here's a quick overview of the loan book:

  • Tez Finance Kazakhstan --> 72%
  • RC Riga Singapore --> 10%
  • Préstamer Spain --> 18%

This data has been retrieved on the 27/9/2020.

If your goal is to invest in loans from those companies, we suggest setting up three different auto invest portfolios otherwise you will end up investing most of your money in loans from TEZ Finance.

Robocash’s Auto Invest allows you to define your:

  1. portfolio size
  2. minimum and maximum investment amount
  3. interest rate
  4. investment period
  5. loan originator
robocash auto invest

Liquidity

Liquidity is another factor that you probably don’t think about, but, it’s really important.

We never know when there will be a financial downturn or other investment opportunities you’re going to be interested in, but one thing we do know is that you’ll want to have quick access to your capital when these times occur.

Robocash recently launched its secondary market for long-term investments.

You can only sell loans with a maturity of one year if you have owned them for at least six months.

If you won't find a buyer within 14 days, Robocash is going to repurchase your investment from you at no additional cost.

Robocash doesn’t offer a secondary market for short-term loans. In this case your capital commitment isn’t usually longer than a few weeks.

Investing on P2P marketplaces or P2P lending site that fund short-term loans make your investments more accessible.

Robocash’s Customer Support

The customer support is very responsive. Any queries we’ve had have been answered within 24 hours. You can get in touch with them via email (support@robo.cash) or give them a call on +385 1344-58-18. You can also fill out their contact form and the team will get back to you as soon as possible.

Even though Robocash is a small P2P platform from Croatia, you'll appreciate the efforts the team put into providing excellent customer support.

Not all platforms have such a responsive customer support teams like this, as we opposed to Crowdestor, where the support is non-existent.

Robocash Review Summary

Robocash is a solid P2P platform that's very easy to use. The P2P lending site regularly reports about the performance of their portfolio, which increases our trust in the platform's operations. While the diversification is limited, Robocash was always able to pay our interest with no delays.

Key Takeaways from our Robocash Review:

  • Easy-to-use platform
  • 30-day-buyback guarantee
  • Backed by profitable finance group
  • Limited diversification

Robocash is currently listing loans with interest of 12% which makes any investment on Robocash very attractive. Sign up now and start earning money.

Ready to invest on Robocash?

FAQs

What should I be looking out for when investing in Asia?

Risk assessment of loans in Asia might be a challenge for European loan originators. Our main piece of advice would be to always check their annual financial reports to get an idea of whether the loan originator is profitable. The Robocash Group was profitable in recent years as you can see in their latest report.

Does the buyback guarantee cover for interest payments?

Yes, the loan originator will repurchase your claim against the borrower in full amount, including the delayed interest payment.

What’s the minimum investment amount on Robocash?

The minimum investment amount is only €10.

Is Robocash a good P2P lending platform?

Robocash is a solid P2P lending platform backed by an established lending company. You should, however, evaluate whether investing in loans from Kazakhstan, Spain or Singapore fits your investment strategy.

Company Information
Company:Robocash d.o.o
Address:Radnička cesta 80, Zagreb, Croatia, 10000
Phone:+ 385 1344 58 18
Email:support@robo.cash
Live Chat:No
Opening Hours:Weekdays from 9AM to 5PM
Social Media:Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn